Modric breaks Messi-Ronaldo duopoly, wins 2018 Ballon d’Or

Croatia and Real Madrid’s Luka Modric broke the Lionel Messi-Cristiano Ronaldo ten-year supremacy once again as he clinched the 2018 Ballon d’Or on Monday.

Modric breaks Messi-Ronaldo duopoly, wins 2018 Ballon d’Or

Croatia and Real Madrid’s Luka Modric broke the Lionel Messi-Cristiano Ronaldo ten-year supremacy once again as he clinched the 2018 Ballon d’Or on Monday.

Messi and Ronaldo were the two who had won football’s top individual prize for the last decade but Modric changed it all this year.

He helped Croatia get to their first ever World Cup final in Russia during the summer.

The 33-year old is the first Croatian to win the prestigious award.

Ronaldo came second followed by Antoine Griezmann and Mbappe as the fourth.

Messi finished outside the top two for the first time since 2006!

Egypt’s Mohamed Salah finished sixth – with Raphaël Varane the highest-ranked defender overall in seventh.

Kylian Mbappe won the first ever Kopa Trophy, an award for the best player under the age of 21 which was voted for by the previous 33 winners of the main award.

Mbappé beat the likes of Gianluigi Donnarumma, Justin Kluivert and Trent Alexander-Arnold to the award.

The PSG and France youngster is the fourth youngest player to have scored in a World Cup, aged 19.

Lyon striker Ada Hegerberg has won the inaugural women’s Ballon d’Or.

She scored an incredible 42 goals in 25 games for her club last term.

The ceremony of the Ballon d’Or was hosted by former Tottenham and Newcastle star David Ginola at the Grand Palais in Paris on Monday.

Winner of the Kopa Trophy

Kylian Mbappe of PSG and France

Winner of Women’s Ballon d’Or

Ada Hegerberg of Lyon and Germany

Winner of Men’s Ballon d’Or

Luka Modric

The top 10

1. Luka Modric (Real Madrid and Croatia)

2. Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus and Portugal)

3. Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid and France)

4. Kylian Mbappe (Paris St-Germain and France)

5. Lionel Messi (Barcelona and Argentina)

6. Mohamed Salah (Liverpool and Egypt)

7. Raphael Varane (Real Madrid and France)

8. Eden Hazard (Chelsea and Belgium)

9. Kevin de Bruyne (Manchester City and Belgium)

10. Harry Kane (Tottenham and England)

How did Premier League players do?

Liverpool forward Mohamed Salah, who set a record for the most goals in a 38-game English top-flight campaign last season, was the highest-placed Premier League player in sixth.

Chelsea forward Eden Hazard was eighth, followed by Belgium team-mate Kevin de Bruyne, of Manchester City, in ninth.

Tottenham striker Harry Kane, who captained England to the World Cup semi-finals and won the Golden Boot, finished 10th as the only Englishman on the shortlist.

Chelsea and France midfielder N’Golo Kante was 11th, with World Cup-winning team-mate Paul Pogba, of Manchester United, finishing 15th.

Sergio Aguero, a Premier League winner with Manchester City last season, was 16th, while Liverpool’s Champions League finalists Roberto Firmino and Sadio Mane were 19th and 22nd respectively.

Brazil goalkeeper Alisson, who joined Liverpool from Roma in the summer, was 25th, with Tottenham and France captain Hugo Lloris 29th.

What is the Ballon d’Or?

The Ballon d’Or has been awarded by France Football every year since 1956, with England’s Stanley Matthews the first winner.

It was only for European players until 1995, when it expanded to become open for any player at a European club. From 2007 it opened up to the rest of the world.

The 30-man list of nominees is compiled by the editorial staff of the French magazine, with the winner voted for by journalists from around the world, with one representative per nation.

From 2010 to 2015 it merged with Fifa’s awards, but they split and the world governing body set up its own awards again in 2016.

Ballon d’Or winners: Ronaldo & Messi dominate since 2008
2007 Kaka Cristiano Ronaldo Lionel Messi
2008 Cristiano Ronaldo Lionel Messi Fernando Torres
2009 Lionel Messi Cristiano Ronaldo Xavi
2010 Lionel Messi Andres Iniesta Xavi
2011 Lionel Messi Cristiano Ronaldo Xavi
2012 Lionel Messi Cristiano Ronaldo Andres Iniesta
2013 Cristiano Ronaldo Lionel Messi Franck Ribery
2014 Cristiano Ronaldo Lionel Messi Manuel Neuer
2015 Lionel Messi Cristiano Ronaldo Neymar
2016 Cristiano Ronaldo Lionel Messi Antoine Griezmann
2017 Cristiano Ronaldo Lionel Messi Neymar
2018 Luka Modric Cristiano Ronaldo Antoine Griezmann

Follow us on.. Twitter & Like our…  Facebook page

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.